Tutti Time

music

This past year has been rough on my family. I went from a full time graduate student to a full time caregiver and as a result I find myself seeking comfort in different areas in my life. Obviously there’s my faith, family and friends but then there are the small things that gave me temporary relief in a marathon of struggles. Things like a manicure or a gourmet burger seem to really cheer me up, even if it’s for a brief moment. And then there were things I made myself commit to for the sake of giving my mind a break such as blogging which I’m convince is an effective form of therapy and playing in an orchestra again which soothed my soul in a way that I had forgotten. There was a time in my life when I thought I would do nothing else besides playing my flute. Then life got busy and competing against professional flutist for spots in a community orchestra became less important. Luckily there was a spot for me in the local community college orchestra last fall and I’ve been playing with them for two semesters now. You know that weird and fuzzy feeling you get when you hear your own voice on an answering machine (ha) or voicemail? That’s what it feels like when I play in an orchestra. It’s so familiar yet unfamiliar. It comforts me and gives me peace. It reminds me of a time when this was all that I needed to be happy.

We’re gearing up for the spring concert in a couple weeks. I had hoped to share a playlist of what will be on the concert, but I couldn’t quite figure out how to do that in posts ….yet. And then I found old clips of my honor orchestra’s european tour … don’t know how to embed it yet. Therefore in the mean time, you can hear one of the songs we will be performing here.

2 thoughts on “Tutti Time

    1. do you still play? it’s been such a source of comfort to me this past year. as my mom always says, you don’t have to be a professional musician to continue playing for the rest of your life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

