Ray Kappe

Aaron and I put in an offer on a home in La Jolla today …eeeeek! Now we sit and wait. But of course I’m already running through all the work I’d want to do in this home. Being a typical townhome, it’s a split level design with the kitchen and dining room half a level higher than the living room. The layout is great but I’m not a fan of the railing and have been racking my brain trying to figure out how to update it and customize it. Then I remember that Ray Kappe’s own home in Los Angeles is all about split levels and I’ve began collecting as many pictures as I can of his house.

Ray Kappe is a legendary architect base in Los Angeles and the founder of SCI-Arc. When I was working as a Jr Structural Engineer, I got to meet Ray Kappe. My boss and mentor is a long time friend of Ray’s and have been his structural engineer for decades. Because of him, I not only met Ray, I got to visit his house and wander around like a kid in a candy factory. As if that wasn’t enough, I got to work on one of Ray’s projects. I got familiar with his style of using concrete walls and wood diaphragms. I learned the secrete to designing his stairs without stringers. I heard stories of how he would get pass the building department inspections with his no railing design. It was amazing and I don’t know if I realized at the time how incredible it was to have the experience to work with him. I still think to this day that his house in Pacific Palisades is the most beautiful residence in Los Angeles.

DW0908_LA_04

003

DW0908_LA_13

002

 

photos from Dwell

Leave a Reply

